Wind River - 4 days, Elkhart-AngelPass-Dennis Lake

outnabout

Hey ya'll! I promised @Nick that I would do a TR of my solo trip in the Winds so here goes. This will be my third time in the Windies and my second solo trip (with k9 buddy Tyke). Last year I did the classic Elkhart-Titcomb trip and had a blast. This year the goal was to try a less-traveled route and try to get to some good lakes for fishing. I'm no expert angler by any means but I am definitely enjoying the sport.

Day 1 (half day) Aug 18
I got to Elkhart TH fairly late (2:30pm) so today wasn't all that exciting. I'm really starting to dislike the first four miles of the trail due to the massive horse-feces mud puddles. It was killer on the way back when I was exhausted and didn't feel like climbing over deadfall to avoid the mud. Anyway the first day brought me to the Pole Creek Lakes just before the first Pole Creek crossing.

Obligatory picture at photographer's point
IMG_8701.JPG

First Camp near Pole Creek (Tyke waiting for his food)
IMG_8730.JPG

After the turn-off onto Pole Creek Trail I saw very few people. In fact I only bumped into one guy during my entire trip after day 1. I saw a few tents and one time saw a group far away but that's about it.

Day 2 Aug 19
Continued on the Pole Creek Trail towards Bald Mtn. Basin. This was my first time going off trail soloing and it wasn't too bad. Route finding to Spider Lake was a bit tricky if you followed the stream. Stay above it and follow the elevation lines on your GPS and it was great terrain. Once I got to Spider Lake I decided to take lunch there and do some fishing. Caught a ton of little brookies and had a great time. There were still quite a few mosquitos out.

Lunch time table for two
IMG_8784.JPG

Brookies galore. And one rainbow in the end.
Screen shot 2014-09-07 at 1.37.09 AM.png

I decided not to follow Miss Pallister's route to the 10,950 lake over "Cook Pass". I took Angel's Pass since it seemed like a more direct route.