The Capture camera clip system

Deadeye008

Hambone
Saw this on Gear Junkie. Looks pretty cool and keeps the camera very handy. The only thing I wonder about is if you were in a place with lots of dust/dirt in the air or if it started raining or something like that. $80 for a little clip system seems steep too but I guess you have to figure in all the R&D and everything.

http://peakdesignltd.com/capture.htm#

my buddy todd uses one of these - he has a camera in a housing though, so it's a pretty sweet solution. it's not light though, so when you consider the housing/camera/clip combo, it's pretty substantial.

nice idea though, seems like a lightweight model would work well too. of course, if it rains, you just put it away.

I've been using one with my 60D for six or seven months now. I like it. My Black Rapid hasn't been used once since I got it. Compared to the camera itself, the clip doesn't weigh hardly anything. No more than a strap, less actually, I would guess?

I use a body cover with it, can't remember whether it's a Lenscoat or Optech brand, might even be something else - just a neoprene body glove for the 60D with clear windows and thumb slits.

Just did a quick search for a picture, not surprisingly I don't have one of myself with the camera on the clip. All I found was this, taken by my friend with my camera, where you can see the part that clamps to a belt or harness on the shoulder strap of my daypack.

IMG_0368W.JPG

I only paid $59 for it off of that same website when I bought it though.

- DAA

be interesting to see the weight. got a scale by chance? i feel like the whole thing is 6 or 8 ounces.

i think it's a pretty good product overall, but the hang up for me is that i don't use a QR plate in the field, since it makes a tripod weigh so much more. so i'd have to take off the arca-style plate when i use a tripod. too much weight/bulk/inconvenience for me personally, but the convenience of the whole setup is appealing.