In the City, Dreaming about the Wilderness...

AR-Tenner

Hi Everyone,

I am a long-time reader, and finally decided to sign up so I can get in on the discussion. Although I have hiked in some pretty cool places in the Chinese Himalayas, Qin Range, and Manuchria, I mostly hike with the end goal of reaching tough-to-access wild trout waters that have little-to-no fishing pressure.

I work as an attorney at a firm in northern Virginia, and although I love my job, being in an urban and low-altitude area, not a day goes by that my mind does not wistfully wander into the Appalachians or Rockies where the air is cool and the trout are big.

I have thoroughly indoctrinated my wife into loving the same type of hiking into beautiful mountain settings and fishing for trout. She is a small-town girl from China whom I met when we were teenagers at Peking University, and her awe at the gorgeous wild spots we have in the U.S. is such a joy to behold. Although it is embarrassing to admit, even though she had never fished until I took her on one such expedition her first time visiting the U.S., she now routinely outfishes me! She is an economist and works in downtown D.C., and longs for our summer expeditions as much as I do.

We have been into the wildest spots in Virginia and North Carolina and caught trophy native Brook Trout, and are planning trips to the Qin range in China after their unique species of lenok, and into the Rockies in Montana, Wyoming, and Idaho to catch Cutthroat and Golden Trout.

Anyway, thanks for the great forum and for having me as part of the community, and I look forward to learning a lot!

Welcome. Backcountry fishing is highly addictive, isn't it?

Welcome. Backcountry fishing is highly addictive, isn't it?