Video: Northern Utah

Vegan.Hiker

So with some time off for the holidays I finally got around to putting a video together from my trip to Utah this past September. I'm a video editing noob, so constructive criticism is certainly appreciated. In the end, this is just a souvenir for myself. Something to remember the trip by later in life. The footage was taken on a Canon point and shoot and edited using Cyberlink Power Director 12. The original Trip Report can be found here. http://backcountrypost.com/forum/threads/my-cross-country-weekend-adventure-in-utah.3667/

Note: for some reason it's not automatically playing back in HD so I you need to manually change it to play back in HD. Not sure if there's a way to embed it differently so it does it automatically?

Last edited:
Well done! That part where the cloud rolls up fast and takes over the frame is awesome. That really makes me want to try harder to produce videos. The only thing I might change is the text setups. I'm not sure exactly how, but it seems like it takes longer than my brain wants it to. Maybe faster fades?

Well done! That part where the cloud rolls up fast and takes over the frame is awesome. That really makes me want to try harder to produce videos. The only thing I might change is the text setups. I'm not sure exactly how, but it seems like it takes longer than my brain wants it to. Maybe faster fades?

Yes your totally right. Now that you mention it, I re-watched it and the beginning moves way too slow. I think I was trying too hard to pace it with the music. That cloud clip was from the walk up the paved switchbacks to Timp cave. It was raining pretty hard for most of the walk but as it cleared the clouds began putting on a show.