Boots or shoes?

chriscebal2000

I'm new to backpacking but my fiancé and i are planning a week long trip to yosemite. I read an article that said that most experienced backpackers prefer to use running shoes instead of hiking boots. I was wondering if I could get some input before I invest in some expensive boots. Thanks!

My Saucony peregrine 4 trail runners with Sof Sol inserts and Salomon low gaiters are a pretty sweet set up. I have narrow feet. No more boots for me! $80 for the shoes(last years model) $20 for insoles and $25 for gaiters. And get some Darn Tough socks. They are awesome!2015-04-10 14.33.58.jpg

I prefer the ankle support, especially because I've been out in the Uintas where off-trail usually means extremely rocky, even scree scrambling, but I still wear synthetic mesh uppers rather than leather. I use Cabela's XPG Mid-hikers, but New Balance, The North Face, and other companies all have comparable ones for just over $100.

Here's what I posted on my blog about this topic a few months ago:

http://thebigoutside.com/ask-me-which-boots-do-you-recommend-for-backpacking-heavier-or-lighter/

There's some discussion from a long-time backpacker on the merits of boots, what kind of wear and when to wear them. This is in contrast to other sites and advice I've read, which focus on the non-boot option significantly. Such as:

http://www.cleverhiker.com/lightweight-gear-basics/episode-8-lightweight-footwear-trekking-poles

https://dave-collins-rzyi.squarespace.com/blog/ditch-boots