Tips for preparing (training) dogs for the backcountry

Devo

So I have a 4 month old Husky mix that we have had for about 2 months now. Training is going really well and she seems like a smart pup. I have been on plenty of trips with dogs in my group (love having them!) and am excited to take her. I admit that I am a total rookie when it comes to being the one 100% responsible for them. I have been working really hard at getting her to look at me on command, leave toys and treats alone until I give her the ok and coming when called. She is doing very well and catching on quick. I realize that out on the trail will probably be a whole new story though vs in/around home. I am wondering if you guys have some tips for "breaking in" a pup for the trail, and tips for those first trips (be it training, what to bring, anything!). Thank you in advance!

That is a big question. I can't speak to all breeds or owners. What I can speak to is that we have a 5yo Labradoodle that is full of energy and fire. She is also the best dog I've been around (Personal bias noted). She follows commands, stays close by, does not beg for people food, is great off leash...I could go on. You want suggestions not stories...

The process is going to take a while for her behavior to stick and be consistent. 1 year is a good guideline, depending on breed, to establish and reinforce behavior.
First, treat her the same at home and on the trail. This sets the baseline for both you and her, for either praise or correction. The advice my Dad gave me was 'never let a dog do once what you don't want it to do twice!' when our puppy was little she grabbed a banana peel out of the garbage and brought it to us to play with (obviously to us a no-no), we took it, redirected her energy to a toy, and praised her for chewing the toy.