Pebble Creek, Yellowstone National Park - August 14, 2020

scatman

I've been heading up to Yellowstone every year since I graduated (yeah right) from college back in 1987. At first, I did the touristy things and a couple of short day hikes. But about three years later, I began to plan and go on backpacking trips every year into the backcountry, usaully doing multiple trips each year. So over the last 30 years, I've seen quite a bit of the park, but there are two locations that I have never hiked or backpacked in before and they are the Slough Creek and Pebble Creek areas, located up in the northeast corner of Yellowstone. So this year I decided to knock out Pebble Creek, with my wife and daughter, for a five day trip that would include staying at two backcountry campsites along Pebble Creek and two day hikes mixed in for fun. Here's our report.

Pre-hike - Madison Campground

Our first day, we drove up from Salt Lake and stayed at a pre-booked campsite at the Madison Campground. Our tent neighbors directly to the south of us weren't very neighborly though, as they arrived late and made loud conversation deep into the night. I was very tempted to let loose some bear spray into their tent the next morning when we got up to head to the trailhead, but somehow I refrained. :(

01.jpg
Our tent setup at Madison Campground

02.jpg
My two partners in crime for the trip

03.jpg
Where the Gibbon (L) and Firehole (M) Rivers meet to form the Madison (R). I got lucky and took this shot when there were no people around.
After about ten minutes, people from the campground began to show up after finishing their dinner. It's a great spot to sit up on the
bluff above the rivers and just ponder life.

04.jpga
This is where I was setting up the shot for the book cover. I placed my little point-and-shoot on my water bottle to take the shot,
but as you can see, I forgot to put the self timer on as the shadows reveal. Oops! :)

Day 1 - Warm Creek Trailhead to Campsite 3P5