Kayaking at Laurel River Lake (KY)

wsp_scott

How about another east coast trip report? I'm posting this in the backpacking forum since this felt like a backpacking trip even though there was some paddling involved. The only thing different from a "normal" backpacking trip was the cooler full of beer :)

I dropped the kids off at school and headed south a couple of hours to Laurel River Lake. I had been eyeing kayaks for a couple years and in the fall pulled the trigger on an inflatable kayak. This was the first overnight kayaking trip. The weather forecast looked like it should be a good weekend (sun during the day, temps from 30-60), but a little windy and some rain overnight. One lesson learned on this trip, wind really matters when you are paddling. I never really paid too much attention to the wind par of the forecast from a backpacking point of view.

Beautiful day, but launching into the wind had waves breaking over the bow of the kayak. Once I got out of the wind, I was able to enjoy the day.

2017-02-24%2B12.42.08.jpg

Here is me enjoying the day even more
2017-02-24%2B14.20.44.jpg

I found a good campsite with potential sunset views
2017-02-24%2B16.55.28.jpg

laurel_river_paddle139.JPG

And then the stars came out
laurel_river_paddle200b.JPG

The next morning it was very windy
2017-02-25%2B10.28.07.jpg

After a really hard 2 miles and 2 hours of paddling, I ended up putting in at the boat in campground and doing some hiking
laurel_river_paddle295.JPG

and then setup camp and waited for the sunset and stars
2017-02-25%2B17.46.52.jpg

The sunset was not that impressive, but the stars were really nice
laurel_river_paddle326b.JPG

Woke up the next morning to sunny and no wind, an easy paddle back to the boatramp.
2017-02-26%2B08.37.20.jpg

A great couple of days, more pics and a lot more detail here https://backpackandbeer.blogspot.com...iver-lake.html

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
regehr kayaking death valley On The Water 1