Ice Axe Self Arrest Field Practice - Thoughts and Observations

Perry

Formerly Cuberant
My brother and I have plans to continue our quest of hiking the entire length of the Highline Trail in the Uintas on the last week of July. This being earlier than would be ideal, coupled with the extreme show fall we got this year, we expect to be crossing snow fields on some of the high passes. In preparation I recently purchased an ice axe for the purpose of self arrest.

I have watched several Youtube videos to learn just how to do self arrest. My favorite one is...

This last Saturday I spent several hours practicing the technique and made a short video. As I didn't have anyone to help record the "action" this video is just my thoughts and observations about the experience. I would appreciate any advice you might be able to offer to help supplement my limited experience with the technique.

Hey Cuberant,

I'm no expert at it so take everything I say with a grain of salt!

That being said, the one thing I'd do different from Cleverhiker is looking down towards your feet while arresting. By doing this, it also helps you drive the pick into the snow. From the video, Cleverhiker seems to be staring at the adze several times. If it's icy, that sucker can end up going into his face.
See 4:02

The other thing i'd advise is using beat-up clothes! Practicing self-arresting can cause some rippage on your nice shells!

Last edited:
I see what you are saying about where you are looking. Good tip!