How much treatment on your pictures?

steve

I have taken a few basic photography classes, but I'm no pro. That being said, my images look NOTHING like the ones you guys are cranking out.

Are you doing much touch-up in photoshop? I see a lot of HDR stuff here. How much recoloring/filtering, etc are you guys doing? Are any of these amazing pictures untouched? (aka, uploaded directly from your camera?)

You mean like this?

riding-unicorn-jpg.8187

But seriously, it just kind of depends. For people shooting in RAW format on a DSLR or similar, you'll find pretty much everyone touches things up at least a little. I don't see much HDR nowadays though. Seems like that was fun for a while and then most people gave it up. I usually just go through and do minor adjustments to my shots. Definition, shadows/highlights, vibrancy, etc. Sometimes I'll use the Nik Efex software and apply more unusual filters but not to most.

Check out this thread where we shared out of the camera shots next to processed shots. It's pretty interesting.

http://backcountrypost.com/forum/threads/photo-processing-comparisons.1179/

Cool, that thread helps a lot. Now I don't feel like such an idiot. For some reason I assumed most people didn't tough up their images (since I don't). I'll need to learn how to do that better.

I shoot in RAW, which means everything has to be post-processed just like Nick said. I try adjust the images so that they look just like I saw the scene, but after I posted the last batch I think they are getting too colorful and saturated. I read that there's sort of a color-syndrome where your eyes get dulled to bright colors if you look at them all the time and it can show up in post-processing. Post-processing is an art in itself and takes time and practice to learn, so don't beat yourself up if you don't know how to do it all at once. My stuff is processed in Lightroom, I don't have Photoshop or use HDR. I frequently use filters on my camera but don't apply them in post.