Flight cancelled, need last minute info

Vegan.Hiker

Hi guys,

So my flight plans got changed for tomorrow because my connecting flight out of Denver was cancelled due to a snow storm. I was supposed to make it to SLC by 1:45 and was going to drive straight to Squaw Flat and take the short mile hike to camp at BS1 in the Needles. I won't be landing in SLC until 4:05 now so I'm thinking I won't make it to Squaw Flat in time to hike out to BS1. It's my first time to Canyonlands so I'm pretty sure I'd get lost if I tried finding BS1 in the dark. Any advice on where I can camp close to the needles (or at least somewhere on the way from SLC) that won't be full arriving late on an April Saturday (I'm assuming the Squaw Flat campground will be full). Doesn't need to be nice, just convenient, as I'll be getting there late and leaving first thing in the morning. If anyone has coords that they wouldn't mind sending me I'll be forever grateful.

Thanks,
John

If no where else, you could probably stay at my brother's in Orem.

That sucks. I can set you up with coords to plenty of good spots between SLC and Moab, but I haven't primitive car camped between Moab and The Needles. There are quite a few BLM camp areas in Indian Creek, but that place was pretty busy last month. I'd imagine it'll be packed on a Saturday in mid-April.

Oh, and if you ever need a place to crash or clean up at in SLC, there's a guest room and four dogs here at my place ready to greet you.

If you want to take a scenic longer route and go down through Hanksville and up through Blanding and Monticello, then I'd have more coords to share. That's a beautiful drive too. Could be a good way to salvage the situation. Drive down to south of Hanksville after your flight and camp, then drive North Wash to Blanding that morning. Seriously a fantastic stretch of road.