Fish Lake area of the Uintas

Deadeye008

Hambone
I was going to wait until I had the video done for this trip to post a TR but I haven't had the time lately to work on the video so I'll just add it to the report when I get it done. I have been backpacking into this area for the past 15+ years. Always coming up the Dry Creek TH and always with the three most popular lakes, Fish, Sand, and Round. This trip I decided to come in on a different route and explore the other lakes in the basin to see what they had to offer. The route we took came in from the East. We followed a 4x4 road off of Hwy 150 and ended up at the end of the road just North of Whiskey Island Lake. From there we headed West, up and over the ridge gaining some 600 ft of elevation in less than .5 mile. It was steeper than I had figured be we made the ridgeline in under half an hour. From the ridge we hooked up with a game trail that lead us Southwest down back down the 600ft we had just gained and into the basin. This trail was more gradual route we had taken up on the other side. Our destination was W-57 were we would spend the night. It sat 2.5 miles from our TH. W-57 is more of a pond than a lake. Roughly 75yds across and half that distance wide. I had been told that it held some decent sized Brookies but most of what we caught were around 12". I saw a few that would have went a little longer than that. All of the fish in there were really healthy and most of them were strutting their deep, rich fall spawning colors already. After arriving at the lake we set up camp, ate lunch, did a little fishing, and then decided to head over to Fish and Sand Lakes to catch some Grayling and check out some historic site in the area. From W-57 it took us about 20 minutes to get to the Eastern shore of Fish Lake. The dam on the Eastern shore was built by CCC workers in the 1930's and there are still various artifacts that can be found from that era including the remains of a log cabin that they inhabited. Also in t