Clear Creek Reservoir

Blake Merrell

Life Elevated - Rising Higher
Hey All!

I have been MIA for that past couple of years. I made a career move and ended up in Prescott Valley Arizona. The new job has kept me at work more than I expected, and my backcountry activity, unfortunately, has dropped off the proverbial cliff. But things have slowed down a bit this winter and I finally logged back into my favorite backpacking forum! hope you are all doing well!

I have not been able to get out on too many adventures, but I did have the opportunity to take some 16-year-olds on a summer adventure in June. I am new to Arizona, so it was fun to research some places to go to. Part of our adventure involved going canoeing on Clear Creek Reservoir!

While driving to Windslow Az, I did wonder if there could be anything good out there, but to my delight, Clear Creek Res. lived up to the hype. It was beautiful to paddle through the slot canyon turned reservoir. The only plan we had when arriving, was to load up the canoes and paddle until we could find a place to camp. doing that allowed us to get away from all the visitors and it seemed we had the whole place to ourselves for an evening.

It was so nice to get away for a few days, and it was amazing to be back in a canoe!

Welcome back, Blake! Really good to see you back around here. That looks like some wonderful paddling, especially those narrow sections! Great report.

Welcome back, Blake! Really good to see you back around here. That looks like some wonderful paddling, especially those narrow sections! Great report.

Jackson! it is great to hear from you. My last great backpacking adventure was with you on that Uinta trip! I am missing those mountains like crazy! hope you are doing well. What great adventure have you gone on these last couple of years?

yes, this little trip was a great getaway. it is really popular with the bouldering crowd. they like SUP to the cliffs, free climb them and just fall into the water.