Budget gear for a noob

tschertz

Newst Noob!
As I mentioned in the noob introduction forum, I am very new to the whole backpack camping. Generally I will just be going on 2 night trips around northern WI but will make it to the Rocky Mountains once or twice a year and this would be a 4-5 day trip.

For my first trip, I borrowed most of my gear and let me tell you...I over packed and it was HEAVY for a 8-10 mile hike. I learned I need to carry less, and it didn't help I had cans of food since it was a last minute, 1 night trip, with temps around 28 degrees F. Learned quite a bit on that trip and since then, have been researching like crazy! I want to get quality stuff, but then again there's a trade-off with a smaller budget.

Gear I own:
  • Rover Buhl mummy sleeping bag. Roughly 2 pounds and compresses quite nice. I enjoy this for a beginner sleeping bag.
  • Self inflatable sleeping mat/pillow. 2 pounds and I know this is a luxury item but it's too darn comfy.
  • Hiking boots from Gander Mountain. These will get replaced down the road into something lighter/waterproof, etc..
  • Tent. 2 person from Walmart (needed it last minute) and it weighs around 6.5 pounds. You may now joke about my tent choice.
  • Platypus 70 ounce water bladder I will pull from my Platypus bag for mountain biking.

Gear I am looking to purchase pretty quickly:
  • Stove: Thinking the MSR Pocket Rocket. Seems like this is a basic "go to" and would fit my needs just fine.