A new tent

gnwatts

I have had some bad zipper experiences lately, from tents to jackets. So a new tent was needed. This was a fun process, but time consuming. My wife finally said "just buy a tent and stop looking", not using that exact language though. I will not be backpacking very much anymore, if at all. Replaced hips, a torn and detached rotator cuff (which has somewhat healed without surgery) will preclude putting on a backpack anymore. So that leaves spending time with my canoe on local rivers and lakes.

As far as getting a new tent, my criteria was pretty straight forward. It has to be freestanding, and it has to withstand serious wind. My last four river trips on the Colorado and the Green have all had rain and winds up to 50-60 mph, with me holding the tent a lot of the time.

So, I had narrowed it down to 3 tents, with help from BCP and others. The Big Agnes Copper Spur HV UL2, the TarpTent Scarp 2
and a tent manufacturer I was not familiar with, SlingFin and their Portal 2.
I am familiar with the Big Agnes from a friend who's opinion I trust. He swore by it, said it was bomber and never let him down. I just did not like the "feel" of it, It seemed kind of flimsy, and my friend has had some minor durability and zipper issues. Zipper problems are the last thing I wanted to hear.

A good comparison, the Copper Spur and the Portal 2:

https://www.cleverhiker.com/backpacking/slingfin-portal-tent-review/?rq=portal&ref=cidwz4ommdi

Having said all of that, I have narrowed it down to the TarpTent Scarp 2, and the SlingFin Portal 2. I looked at the TarpTent Double Rainbow DW, but I did not like the fact that I needed trekking poles for it to be freestanding. What if I wanted to use the trekking poles for a hike?

So....

The TarpTent Scarp 2 is a beautiful and unique tent:

https://www.tarptent.com/product/scarp-2/