Replacing skies?

Vegan.Hiker

So I've been reading a few books on digital photography, and in a few places I've read about the concept of replacing skies. I'm not here to judge. I know everyone has the right to enjoy photography the way they want and art is subjective. I get that. There's just something about replacing a sky though that I'm not comfortable with personally. Again, I won't judge others that do it. I speak only for myself.

I know that when we convert a photo to black and white, bracket, use a long exposure, etc., we're essentially altering what our "eyes" may have seen, but that feels more like artistic "interpretation" whereas replacing a sky feels more like "misrepresentation" to me. I began tinkering with photography because reading all the trip reports on BCP made me realize I should archive my experiences to look back on later in life. I guess I want to remember things the way they really were.

I'm new to photography and everything I've been learning about thus far has been "technical" sort of stuff. This is the first time I've been compelled to think of photography in more of a philosophical way.

I'm wondering how all the photographers on here feel about the idea of replacing a sky in a photo?

Last edited:
I'm wondering how all the photographers on here feel about the idea of replacing a sky in a photo?

I've done it. I don't like doing it.

My personal opinion is that when you start blending multiple images (excluding bracketed sequences), you're in the realm of digital art and not straight photography.

That said, I routinely process photos to give skies already in the shot a little more oomph. This consists of using a graduated filter and/or saturation and luminance controls in Lightroom to increase contrast.