Packraft Routes

It's pretty heavy. Depending on your boat, it's going to be:
4.5-7 lbs for your boat (depending on features/size)
~2 lbs for your paddle
0.2-2lbs for your pfd

Keep in mind I have ZERO experience with packrafting. I'm a noob trying to figure it all out. This is all my opinion based on what I have read, and I could be WAY off. I think there are two perspectives on packrafting:

1) You hike in order to be able to paddle some really cool terrain or...
2) you paddle in order to be able to hike some really cool terrain

It sounds like semantics, but option 1 focuses on paddling. Option 2 focuses on hiking.

I bought a packraft for three reasons:

#1 (see #1 above)
#2 I'm addicted to gear
#3 so I could create new trips with mixed adventure along the way, and explore new places where rivers shut me out before.

Mainly, I got a packraft so I could paddle cool places that I can't get to in my IK. In other words, the paddling is the focus, not the hiking.

The way I see it, an extra 10-30 lbs in your boat is nothing. An extra 10 lbs on your back is significant. So it all comes down to the balance of paddling and hiking. If you're doing a 30 mile hike with a 1 mile packraft section, It may not be worth carrying 10 lbs of gear just for that short section of river. If you're going to hike 5 miles to packraft 60, then the 10 lbs really only needs to be carried for 5 miles, then it becomes less important.

The idea of accessing the maze via needles for a quick 2-3 day trip is super appealing to me. As @Kullaberg63 has demonstrated, he can zip down there, launch, cross the colorado, and get into the maze in an hour or two from needles. That sure beats a 12 hour bumpy car ride back in there.

I think the weight of the packraft will take its toll on long hikes. The goal for me is to not have to hike super long distances with the packraft gear in tow, as it's pretty heavy.