GPS Dog Tracking Devices / Gun Dog Whistles

Vegan.Hiker

I'd like to get the thoughts of the others on here that hike with their dogs. I know that every dog is unique. My dog Joey could never be trusted to hike off-leash but my dog Lucy is great off-leash. The one thing that I'm still working on with her though, is that her prey drive occasionally kicks in and she'll bolt off trail after a squirrel or chipmunk. After about 20 seconds of chase, when she sees that I kept walking and hears me calling her, she bolts up the trail full speed to catch up to me. This never really concerned me much, but then I had a scary thought on my last trip... what if she accidentally bolted up the trail in the wrong direction. She'd probably get nervous and keep running in search of me, getting further separated. I think there's only a remote chance of this happening, but it's a possibility that I'd like to eliminate.

So I started training her last week to develop her recall to a gun dog whistle. I picked up a Fox 40 whistle that supposedly can carry up to a mile (although I'm sure the range is much less in dense woods). I think with a few weeks of solid training I won't have to worry about the possibility of us getting separated in the woods.