A short hike on the AT in Shenandoah National Park

Pringles

I've been hiking on the Appalachian Trail for 36 years. I'm making progress, though quite slowly. :) I've managed to get a bit over 40% done, nearly 1000 miles. Since I moved out West, I have only hiked at Christmas, when my sister and I go to see her daughter's family near Richmond. I get to do a day hike. It's usually 3-5 miles, and takes a few hours. She drops me off and goes shopping, then we meet at a prearranged pickup point. Now that I’ve retired, we’re going a little earlier, while the weather is nicer. This time was Rattlesnake Point Overlook to Gravel Springs Gap, around 4.2 miles.

This segment had a lot of nice views. Sometimes there are only a few nice views nested in a walk in the forest. The forest looked nice, too... open, with small trees on the ridge, and bigger trees on the flanks of the ridges.

20211118_083836.jpg

I had downloaded the map from Alltrails, but following the white blazes is comforting. (Also, I found that the Alltrails map I created followed Skyline Drive. Oops.)

20211118_084735.jpg

Maybe there'll be a view up here.

20211118_084834.jpg

20211118_084921.jpg

There is! A view to the northwest. It was worth the little climb.

I love the scraggly trees that live so close to the ridge. They have to contend with wind and cold and their twisted nature shows their character.

20211118_091458.jpg

Some show less character than others.

20211118_092427.jpg

Again, a view to the northwest.

20211118_093142.jpg

This time I peeked over the hill to find the Skyline Drive. I was never more than a hop, skip and a jump from it. I doubt most of the people in cars know the AT is so close. I doubt most know what it is.

Less crowded for us! Whoo hoo!

20211118_093223.jpg

Mountain laurel line the trail. In the spring, these geometric flowers look like pompons of white. Now, they just look pleasantly green.

20211118_093941.jpg