Backpacking 101

nickalletto

I'm new to backpacking and I'm looking for thoughts, opinions, and pointers on equipment. I do have some things already such as an outer frame backpack and 20° backpacking sleeping bag. Keeping A budget in mind, what "backpacking necessities" should I consider picking up? My first trip will be to the high uintas this Fourth of July weekend.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi there. Welcome. A list of the basic necessities would be something along the lines of this list...

Necessities...
Pack
Tent
Sleeping pad
Sleeping bag
Stove
Water filter
First aid kit
Headlamp
Bear bag or canister
Good footwear

Non-essentials but often used...
Quick drying t-shirt, underwear, pants
Hydration bladder (so you can drink through a tube without taking your pack off)
Trekking poles
A good GPS app
An external phone charger
A camera so your friends and coworkers don't think you're telling tall tales

There are a few small items too like a trowel or something to dig a cat hole with, pocket knife, etc. but that's pretty much it.

The people on here including myself can talk ad nauseum about each of the above items so you came to the right place.

Welcome!
Few other items - maybe all not necessary
Bug net
Bic lighter and back up lighter
sunscreen
Good hat
sunglasses
Rope
compass
map
Pack liner(like trash compactor bag) and or pack cover
Rain gear
Bug spray
Cook pot and or cup
spoon
Fleece
puffy jacket
gloves

Talk to me about rain gear. I have an old(er) outer frame back pack. Any ideas for pack cover? Someone told me to always be prepared for rain in the Uintas...