Starting Out 2019 in Big Sur

Scott Chandler

Wildness is a necessity- John Muir
After A Few Days in Yosemite, Colleen and I packed up her stuff (most of mine still being in my car) and my roadtrip picked up a partner to enjoy some nice weather. Luckily Colleen could get plenty of time off to match my between jobs unemployment fun time.

So it was that we rolled into the Monterey Bay area for New Year's Eve. Excitement burst forth as we saw the ocean. Having an AirBNB lined up for the night, we decided to take our time to enjoy the afternoon by visiting Fort Ord Dunes State Beach. Colleen is a huge lover of the ocean while I've had little experience so the next few days were lining up to be a bit entertaining.

The dunes were interesting. Mellow coarse sands were covered in a succulent plant that we later learned is known as ice plant. It could apparently be invasive, but it was neat so at the time we didn't think of it. It had yellow and purple flowers.

IMG_20181231_134347.jpg

One the other side of the dunes was the ocean! This spot was pretty exposed to the energy of the sea so big waves were thundering away. At least.... they seemed big to me. I certainly did not want to swim. I barely even wanted to get my feet wet, trying to get pictures of any worth with my phone had me scampering in and out of the line of the waves' reach. Along with a selection of beach detritus like shells and sea glass, we watched birds and the play of the sun on the waves.

IMG_20181231_135006.jpgIMG_20181231_140744.jpg

On New Year's Day we went into Monterey to visit its amazing aquarium. It lived up to my childhood memory. I was going from tank to tank with more excitement than the children in attendance, seriously, I had children giving me WTF looks. One girl looked like she was one squeal away from asking if I was okay at the sea otter viewing. It was a fun time. I could watch the creatures of the ocean for days, especially the jellyfish. They are so pretty.