Mt. Liberty and Flume - June 15, 2012

jdgibney

I figured I'd post one of my NH trip reports, this one from the Franconia Notch area of the White Mountain National Forest. We tackled two more of the 48 4,000 footers in the granite state.

Photos and Tracks at Gib's Adventures

Friday, Meg, Scott and I did our first climb up to Franconia Ridge bagging Liberty and Flume. The weather was absolutely perfect and the views stunning in all directions.
In planning this trip, I kicked around the idea of getting up ridiculously early (2AM) and trying to make it up to Sugar Hill to get some sunrise photos of the Lupines (something I’ve been talking about doing for a few years, but have yet to do… they’ll be there next year), but I shot that idea down knowing it was going to be a full day of hiking for us. Scott said he would join us if ‘we’ could get back by 6PM (which I interpreted to mean back to my place in Nashua, more on that later)… So, I planned the trip backwards, estimating the time for driving, hiking and driving, and I came to the conclusion that we should leave at 3:45…which we did. There was not a cloud in the sky, though plenty of stars and the moon were shining bright!