Mid-October Backpacking

Rock

Me and a couple buddies have 5 days off in October (around the 13th), and we're looking to a 3-4 day trip with no more than probably 10 miles of hiking per day, as we will have two relative beginners in the group. I have plenty of backpacking experience, but little experience planning trips. It was recommended that I try Upper Muley Twist, or Coyote Gulch. I also read a trip report by @Nick about his trip in
Salt Creek in May 2011 and am leaning towards doing that trip. I've never planned a trip requiring permits before so how would I go about obtaining those?
Also, any guidebooks or other trips you might recommend?

Are you specifically looking for redrock? On a warmer than usual year (this year predicted) with Noaa not predicting early snows...and if you are prepared for snow just in case....you would find some wonderful solitude in places that would normally not have it....like the Uintas for example. But on the 17th all of that will end as the Utah, general, rifle, deer hunt begins.

I'm not really looking for anything in particular, but something that won't be too crowded. I was really hoping to do a trip up to Allsop, I still might do it that week but I wanted to have a warmer trip planned just in case the Uintas were getting pummeled by snow.

Thank you for that link @Kullaberg63