Getting into river rafting

Nick

-
Oh, and this is very helpful in further convincing me to buy a raft... thank you. :)
Oh really? (I say, thoughtfully stroking my chin)
Yes, really. :)

Decided to start a thread about the topic of how to get started on acquiring rafting equipment rather than fully hijack @mattvogt7 's excellent trip report.

I've been thinking about it for a while, but now that I've experienced river life, I've been looking much more into it. The unexpected addition of a new hiking pup to accompany me on trips for the next decade or so only fuels the fire to have something much roomier than my kayak.

So... anyone have any wisdom to share on getting into rafting? The only thing I know so far is if I win sweet permits, the boats will come. :lol:

Have you put in for any permits yet this year?

I can't give advice as I'm a noob here as well, but I'm hoping to score permits for trips. Failing that, I intend to start building some kayaking experience this summer (eyeballing some skill-building outings on the Moab Daily or Green River from Flaming Gorge Dam to Little Hole).

If I get permits, I'll probably be looking to rent a raft (unless I know someone with the gear already...).

I put in for the Middle Fork Salmon just for laughs and this discussion just reminded me to go check on the Smith Fork which the lottery just opened on today. So that's two I've put in on so far. Thinking I might put in for a Grey/Deso before I'm done. I think most of the permit lotteries close on Jan 31.

I'm not really a fan of renting but from what little I know, this seems like an expensive hobby to get into and it certainly might be how I start as well. But then again, I've been known to just go all out on something new like this. I just don't know what to look for and what is good and bad.