Fiftymile Creek in Escalante - 5/24/2013

neiloro

My wife, seven friends, and I headed down to Escalante for Memorial Day weekend. We had some seasoned hikers, and some complete noobs, so we wanted an easy hike in to a basecamp, from where we could leisurely explore. Inspired by @Nick's report on Fiftymile from earlier in May, we decided to head there. We had the canyon entirely to ourselves on Memorial Day, and it was perfect.

We parked in the wash and hiked in. At the point where you have to scramble to get into the canyon, we decided to go back upstream and explore the part we had bypassed.

Some of the group stemming for the first time in their lives.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6527.jpg

At the end there's a dryfall - the obstacle that forces you to bypass the canyon in the first place.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6519.jpg

A little further down is a serious "yoni" on the left, looking down canyon.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6533.jpg

After a few miles we got to the riparian area Nick described, where the cottonwoods were all growing in a perfect row.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6548.jpg

And that was just before we got to the arch and alcove, where we'd camp.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6556.jpg

Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6578.jpg

I don't have the best lens for it, but I gave some night photography of the arch a shot.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6646.jpg

Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6811.jpg

There are some nice pictographs right there, under the arch.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6575.jpg

Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6590.jpg

At night the datura all flowered.
Escalante-Fiftymile-Nilauro-Markus-2012-05-24-6630.jpg