Excited to Learn!

GeorgieGurl

Hello! I’m brand spanking new to backpacking and am planning a trip the first of October to hike rim to rim of the Grand Canyon! (Go big or go home, right?) Like I said, I’m just starting out – I got fitted for my backpack last week, but I still need EVERYTHING else! Whew! I want to learn everything I can from the people who’ve ‘been there, done that’. Would love tips on hiking the GC specifically, as well as traveling as light as possible. I’m excited to learn and hear other peoples’ adventures! (Just to clarify, I will not hike rim to rim in one day, but 2 -3 days!)

Last edited:
Sounds exciting! I would certainly recommend some "training trips" to get acclimated to carrying the weight up and down steep terrain.
Good sturdy broken in boots about 1-1.5 sizes too big are a must!
Trekking poles!

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

Sounds exciting! I would certainly recommend some "training trips" to get acclimated to carrying the weight up and down steep terrain.
Good sturdy broken in boots about 1-1.5 sizes too big are a must!
Trekking poles!

Thank you! YES for SHUR!! I got my poles and pack first so I could start training with it. I have a few places with steep grades that I will be training on. Ugh... building those legs AND lungs!!

Not much will compare to climbing out of the big ditch. Rim to rim is ambitious for a first.. especially if trying in one day. personally id to south to north. Should start a little milder imo.

Thank you! YES for SHUR!! I got my poles and pack first so I could start training with it. I have a few places with steep grades that I will be training on. Ugh... building those legs AND lungs!!
Are you in the Southwest? I do a lot of 1-3 night trips & am always happy to have some company. I'm actually breaking my 10 yr old son in this spring, so lots of beginner type trips planned.

Congratulations! I am very exciting for you and your journey.
I still feel like a noob haha