3-day Canyonlands trip in May---suggestions wanted

RyanP

Hello all, first post here. I am planning a 2-night backpacking trip in Canyonlands during the month of May and as this is my first time there I need your help! Here are some details and criteria:

1. I am doing this trip with my brother. Both of us are in decent shape and have done a fair amount of hiking. However, we have limited desert backpacking experience (just a couple of times between us) and I'd like to restrict this to easy-to-follow routes. I'm assuming we'll probably be doing something in the Needles district.

2. We'll probably be doing a 2-night trip, with two fairly long days and one half-day.

3. I hate carrying tons of water. One appealing option would be to hike in to a base camp and just do day-hikes from there (so we can carry a bunch of water just the first day and then leave some at the base camp). If we do a 3-day loop, there needs to be reliable water that we'd feel comfortable drinking after filtering. I'm used to clear mountain spring water when hiking so I don't know how comfortable I'd be with the water if it has stuff floating around in it.

4. More than anything, we want to see spectacular natural scenery. A route that goes through some narrow canyons or with a little scrambling would be fun too. Dwellings/petroglyphs/etc. would be a plus as well, although this is lower priority than the natural scenery and having a "fun" route. Avoiding the crowds is always important, but I assume that won't be too much of an issue backpacking in Canyonlands (correct me if I'm wrong).

6. Loops are fun. We could also do a one-way route, since we will each be driving separately to Canyonlands. Either sounds more interesting than an out-and-back. The road to the trailhead needs to be easily accessible in my subaru outback, and if we do a one-way route, the second trailhead would need to be accessible with a standard sedan.