Yellowstone Trip

Hey guys, this summer near the beginning of July me and 2 others will be backpacking in the Heart Lake and Snake River area of Yellowstone. I am rather new to backpacking and would love to get some advice on these areas. Thanks.

Don't know that particular Yellowstone area. There may be other info already here if you search around. You absolutely should carry and know how to use pepper spray. Good Luck!

@Spencer Sutherland - What trail head are you entering the backcountry from - Heart Lake or the South Boundary? Are you planning on returning to the same trailhead or are you shuttling between the trail heads? Do you have your backcountry permit with your campsites chosen yet? Let me know your itinerary and I can make some suggestions.

East entrance road TH by Yell Lk around to the south and out Heart Lake TH is a easy but great 50 mile trip with hardly any elevation gain ........
Wildlife, scenery, fishing. The Camp at Park Point if you can get it is great.
I have info somewhere...

@scatman I will be entering from heart lake trail head to campsite 8H4 on the west shore. Then hike to campsite 8C4 on the snake river and stay 2 nights to fish. Then hike to 8J4 on the heart river. then head out the next morning to heart lake trailhead

You're not planning on summiting Sheridan? That would be a serious shame.

IMO fishing is better in the Teton Wilderness.

Reactions: Bob
@Spencer Sutherland - I have to agree with @Absarokanaut, you need to summit Sheridan while you're back in there. Campsite 8H4 is the closest site to the trail up Mount Sheridan. Maybe you can get an early start on your first day when you hike in and hike up the mountain after you set up camp. The views from the top are tremendous: the Tetons to the south, Lewis and Shoshone Lakes to the west, Delusion and Yellowstone Lakes to the northeast, and a bird's eye view of Heart Lake along with the route your taking on your trip.