Toothy Critters At Joe's Valley

heronwheels

I've been hanging around BCP for a few years, always amazed by the trip reports, but felt a touch inadequate in my travels around Utah to post a trip report. After a very frustrating shoulder surgery in February to repair a torn biceps tendon, I wasn't sure my annual spring trip west would happen, but thankfully for my sanity it worked out! The pups and I fished and hiked our way around for a week before heading home. I thought I'd share a few of the fishing highlights - can't wait to get back out in September!!

Joe's Valley Reservoir Fishing
My furry navigators snoring loudly, I was thankful I didn’t need help finding my way to the reservoir. I drove the windy scenic road that heads through Straight Canyon to the reservoir. There were vehicles at nearly every pullout for Cottonwood Creek, either bouldering or fishing, so I decided to forego fishing the creek this time and head right to the campground.

As it was last year, the campground was empty, only a small portion of it is open during the spring with no water available. After driving the short loop, I decided to pick site 7, the same site we had set up on the previous year’s trip. A cute little ground squirrel was checking us out from the fire pit as I was getting the dog tie outs, camp chair and dog beds laid out. I was anxious to wet a line so loaded up the dogs and started driving toward the channel where Seely Creek enters the reservoir.

Our little squirrel buddy – thankfully Yukon didn’t notice it :)
image11.jpeg