Fishing Gear for Backpacking

BryanG

I've been wanting to incorporate fishing gear into my camping/backpacking outfit for awhile now. But I am a beginner to trout fishing (mostly saltwater experience) and not sure where to start. Ideally, I would like to have something that I can take backpacking as well as use when camping in the mountains. Don't really want to spend money on two different set-ups. So my question is what would y'all recommend for a beginner?

fishing with a fly and bubble? (cheap option but not sure how effective)

buying a fly rod and learning how to cast? (would like to learn to fly fish someday)

try out a Tenkara rod set up?

Any advice is much appreciated!

Bryan

When I take fishing gear backpacking I go cheap and light...I take a simple rod that comes apart in half and put it on the side of my pack in the water bottle pocket and it slightly pokes up above my pack. For a reel I found the smallest/lightest reel in the store, $10-$15 like this one: http://www.scheels.com/shop/scheels...ereg-Synergyreg-Steel-Reel-D-8950-1285795-EGG
And I bring the Jake's lure that looks like a gold domino with red dots. This is obviously a setup for lake fishing.
It's a very basic setup, but works great for me.

I have a 4 piece St. Croix 4wt. fly rod that I just love. It works great on streams and rivers, but being only 8' long it's very hard to cast that far out into a lake, but that usually is not too big of a problem for most of the places I go. I made a fly rod tube case for it out of a plastic fluorescent tube light protector (found at Home Depot and similar stores). Although not very strong, it is super light, and it protects my eyelets and rod as long as I'm careful not to crush it. I strap it to the side of my pack with the bottom in the mesh pocket with my water bottle. My fly box is a really lightweight foam box.