Back to Bishop, CA

Laura

freespirittraveler
I've been coming to Bishop for hiking and camping for over 20 years, but believe it or not (aside from a workshop with David Muench in 2012) I've never come here for photography. Stan and I stayed here over New Year's and I got some nice shots on just a few outings, so when I saw a storm was supposed to hit the Eastern Sierra I diverted my usual winter trip to Utah/Grand Canyon to Bishop.

The plan was to explore some of the jeep trails since I now have an AWD car, and there are plenty around here. When I got here the clouds were building, and I pulled off the side of the road to capture some of the color:

Tree and cloud Laura Zirino.jpg

The storm was forecast to come in the next day. That morning I drove down Buttermilk Road, not sure where the best view would be. I saw a steep trail up one of the many hills (that I believe are cinder cones) that cover the area. And I mean STEEP, like 20 degrees steep. The light looked to be good, and I started to get panicky, feeling the pressure to NOT SCREW UP THE LIGHT. On my last photo trips I've brought an issue of Outdoor Photographer with an amazing article by David Leland Hyde about getting in touch with the landscape. It's totally inspirational. And I forgot to bring it. I was not in touch with the landscape or my surroundings, and as the mountain peaks lit up I was jumping from place to place trying to find a great view. And not paying attention-I kicked over my camera bag and the 16-35 mm f4 lens I rented went over the edge of a rock and hit the ground. $h!+. I kept shooting cause there was nothing I could do at that point. Got one decent shot:

Sunrise %22Pano%22 Laura Zirino.jpg