Staying in shape...or getting it back

balzaccom

After my knee problems of two years ago, I have been fighting to get back on my bicycle and back in shape. Last year I sat out much of the first half of the year, and then slowly built myself back up to where I could do some miles each day.
This year I set a goal of ten miles per day, or 3650 miles per year. That’s well under my totals from a few years ago, when I was riding 6000+ miles per year. But I thought it was worth a shot…and so I started riding.

Well, yesterday I went over 3650 miles for the year. Despite flying over 100,000 miles on United, and fitting this in between backpacking trips and running a business, I managed to get out and ride more than I expected….and I still have two months to go. Who knows? I should get over 4,000….

That's awesome and inspiring. Thanks for posting.

Despite still hiking quite a bit this year, my knee problems are helping me to become more out of shape than ever. One of the big things I'm hearing with my upcoming knee replacement is that I need to get back in shape and lose some weight to make sure it's a success. I've been traveling the last week in Vegas and SoCal and putting down lots of miles walking in the process. It's pretty painful so I was thinking I'd start the bike when I get home later this week and see how many miles I can get in before they split me open.

Reactions: DAA
Good for you @balzaccom that's great stuff.

What is the best training regimen for hiking, specifically for keeping the knees in good shape? Sounds like the stationary bike would be good, but anything else? I would guess leg extensions, leg curls, calf raises, since all the muscles of the leg support the knee? Also, is better to eliminate impact on the knees when training for hiking to preserve them, or include high impact exercises to simulate hiking and keep them conditioned to impact? By high impact exercises, I mean like running on pavement.